other hardware

Post Reply
alexvanuxem
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2022 4:41 pm
Location: Sint-Katelijne-Waver, Belgium
Station model: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

other hardware

Post by alexvanuxem » Thu Jun 02, 2022 8:43 pm

Hi all,

I now a full Davis hardware set: wll, iss, sonic anemometer, leaf and soil, 2 airlinks, ...

I would like to expand. Lightning? Sun solar ?......
other hardware?

I would like to easily incorporate this into MT (first choice), pwsWD, Cumulus, ...or other websites I don't know about.

Any suggestions? CO2, lightning, other...

i guess many of the members are Ecowitt fans? How can integrate this with my Davis setup?

thank you!

Alex
Image

davidefa
Expert
Expert
Posts: 658
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:03 am
Location: Italy
Station model: WH2650
Software: WH2650 (direct upload)
Contact:

Re: other hardware

Post by davidefa » Thu Jun 02, 2022 9:34 pm

I think you can use a gw1000/gw1100/wh2650 gateway and the ecowitt plugin to upload your ecowitt sensors
Even if not 'officially recommended' you can update your database from different sources 'concurrently' ( in your case from meteobridge and from the ecowitt gateway ).
I do it having a gw2650 that uploads all my ecowitt sensors and an home made air quality sensor that calls the api.php script directly ( and it works ok )
Image

alexvanuxem
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2022 4:41 pm
Location: Sint-Katelijne-Waver, Belgium
Station model: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Re: other hardware

Post by alexvanuxem » Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:19 pm

thx, does that lightning sensor work well?

Any issues?

if I understand correctly that sensor needs to be placed outside inside a 'shield' that is fixed on a pole or something,

that shield is comes with the sensor, do you know?

thx
Image

davidefa
Expert
Expert
Posts: 658
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:03 am
Location: Italy
Station model: WH2650
Software: WH2650 (direct upload)
Contact:

Re: other hardware

Post by davidefa » Fri Jun 03, 2022 4:48 pm

alexvanuxem wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:19 pm thx, does that lightning sensor work well?

Any issues?

if I understand correctly that sensor needs to be placed outside inside a 'shield' that is fixed on a pole or something,

that shield is comes with the sensor, do you know?

thx
It works well in detecting strikes ( the image is the recording of a storm a few days ago )

lightning2.png
lightning2.png (20.75 KiB) Viewed 2304 times
but it also detects a lot of false strikes, I tested a few places and found that a corner in my office is the most 'electromagnetically quiet' place ( on wxforum I see others having a hard time to find a place without false strikes ).
Now I have it in a waterproof box near the composter, outside my house, but it still records 30-50 false strikes a day ( worse than inside my office ).
On the ecowitt shop you can find it bundled with a small solar shield: https://www.ecowitt.com/shop/goodsDetail/64#
Image

User avatar
meteoesine
Forecaster
Forecaster
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 4:08 pm
Location: Esine, Valcamonica (BS) - Italy
Station model: Davis Pro2 + BloomSky cam
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Re: other hardware

Post by meteoesine » Fri Jun 03, 2022 5:38 pm

positioned on the roof with some safety bands.
0 false strikes. recommended!
Attachments
IMG_20220521_075010 (FILEminimizer).jpg
IMG_20220521_075010 (FILEminimizer).jpg (248.88 KiB) Viewed 2299 times
:arrow: https://meteoesine.it
ham wx aprs/cwop: IW2LAO-13

Image

alexvanuxem
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2022 4:41 pm
Location: Sint-Katelijne-Waver, Belgium
Station model: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Re: other hardware

Post by alexvanuxem » Fri Jun 03, 2022 5:58 pm

thx all, ordered one, let's see...

amazed that all stuff they sell are quite 'cheap', in comparison with Davis,

@davidefa I see that you custom made lightning blocks and custom made plugins with statistics about your pomodori and compost, could you share it, please?

PS: still bugged about my second indoor airlink not reporting anywhere. 2nd airlink is reporting temp and hum, but not pm. Because there's no way to map them inside meteobridge.

thx all.

Keep you updated on the progress.
Image

Post Reply