Setting Up WeatherCat

Post Reply
nineback
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:12 am
Location: Alabama
Station model: Davis Pro2
Software: WeeWX
Contact:

Setting Up WeatherCat

Post by nineback » Mon Sep 18, 2017 6:45 pm

Trying to set up WeatherCat on my MAc instead of WD that I have been using on my Windows machine. In WeatherCat is asks for a URL and Password. I assume the URL is the link to my web page.

HTTP://www.kq5s.com/template

I also assume the Password that Weathercat ask for is the update password in the template.

When I enter these into the WeatherCat Meteotemplate page and hit start I get:

=========================================
html>
<head>
<title>KQ5S Weather</title>
</head>
<body>

</body>
<script>
isMobile = mobileCheck();
isTablet = mobileTabletCheck();
screenWidth = screen.width;

if(screenWidth >= 1200){
window.location = "indexDesktop.php";
}
else if(screenWidth < 900){
window.location = "indexMobile.php";
}
else{
check = mobileTabletCheck();
if(check){
window.location = "indexMobile.php";
}
else{
window.location = "indexDesktop.php";
}
}

function mobileCheck(){
var check = false;
(function(a){if(/(android|bb\d+|meego).+mobile|avantgo|bada\/|blackberry|blazer|compal|elaine|fennec|hiptop|iemobile|ip(hone|od)|iris|kindle|lge |maemo|midp|mmp|mobile.+firefox|netfront|opera m(ob|in)i|palm( os)?|phone|p(ixi|re)\/|plucker|pocket|psp|series(4|6)0|symbian|treo|up\.(browser|link)|vodafone|wap|windows ce|xda|xiino/i.test(a)||/1207|6310|6590|3gso|4thp|50[1-6]i|770s|802s|a wa|abac|ac(er|oo|s\-)|ai(... (response limited to 1000 characters)
=====================================================

Any idea what is going on? The upload to WU is working fine.

Thanks,
Tom

User avatar
Jachym
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1686
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 10:12 pm
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
Station model: WH1080
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Re: Setting Up WeatherCat

Post by Jachym » Mon Sep 18, 2017 11:02 pm

The URL you need to provide is not the index but the api.php in your template root

nineback
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:12 am
Location: Alabama
Station model: Davis Pro2
Software: WeeWX
Contact:

Re: Setting Up WeatherCat

Post by nineback » Mon Sep 18, 2017 11:44 pm

Thanks. That did it. Now I have to figure out how to get the webcam images uploaded? He provides a simple check mark to upload to WU but not to a website.

Thanks again.

Tom

User avatar
Reinhard
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 9:42 am
Location: Prägraten am Großvenediger
Station model: Davis VP2 Pro wireless
Software: WeatherCat
Contact:

Re: Setting Up WeatherCat

Post by Reinhard » Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:56 am

nineback wrote: Mon Sep 18, 2017 11:44 pm He provides a simple check mark to upload to WU but not to a website.
Hi Tom,
take a look at the Manual page 174 and following or see the Wiki webcam section. This is the short way. ;)

The long way: Enable Simple or Custom Web in WeatherCat (How To again needs a look into the manual) then your webcam picture will be uploaded to your server. From here you can link it to Meteotemplate, for example

Code: Select all

<img src="www.yourwebspace.com/webcam.jpg" alt="Webcam picture">
Hope this helps,
Reinhard
Image

Post Reply