Where and how do I update the MENU for mobile?

Post Reply
Julius
Observer
Observer
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 10:41 pm
Station model: Barani MeteoHelix
Software: meteobridge

Where and how do I update the MENU for mobile?

Post by Julius » Sat Sep 03, 2022 2:49 pm

It's not in the Wiki, it's nowhere to be found, and the mobile devices still see the oldest default menu I had.
Must be missing something really obvious, but I can't find it..

Julius
Observer
Observer
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 10:41 pm
Station model: Barani MeteoHelix
Software: meteobridge

Re: Where and how do I update the MENU for mobile?

Post by Julius » Sun Sep 11, 2022 2:28 pm

Really? Nobody else ever encountered this? The menu for indexMobile is always the same old one. It does not change..

alexvanuxem
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2022 4:41 pm
Location: Sint-Katelijne-Waver, Belgium
Station model: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Re: Where and how do I update the MENU for mobile?

Post by alexvanuxem » Sun Sep 11, 2022 4:03 pm

go to your control panel.

In homepage: you can setup your desktop or youir mibile version, :-)
Image

gwatuk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2022 9:52 am
Station model: EcoWitt
Software: Weather Display

Re: Where and how do I update the MENU for mobile?

Post by gwatuk » Sun Sep 25, 2022 1:46 pm

I'm very new here.
I have the same problem.

"go to your control panel.
In homepage: you can setup your desktop or youir mibile version"

I can't see any reference to menu in the homepage area.

davidefa
Expert
Expert
Posts: 674
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:03 am
Location: Italy
Station model: WH2650
Software: WH2650 (direct upload)
Contact:

Re: Where and how do I update the MENU for mobile?

Post by davidefa » Tue Sep 27, 2022 11:34 am

Not sure to understand correctly the question:
- are you referring to the menu 'look' ( in mobile/desktop version )
- or to the 'menu content' ( in mobile/desktop version )
I think the menu content is fixed in both versions, the look is a little bit different but I think both can be changed.

Desktop in desktop browser
menu01.png
menu01.png (311.72 KiB) Viewed 226 times

mobile in desktop browser
menu02.png
menu02.png (29.52 KiB) Viewed 226 times

mobile in mobile browser
menu03.png
menu03.png (239.14 KiB) Viewed 226 times
Image

gwatuk
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2022 9:52 am
Station model: EcoWitt
Software: Weather Display

Re: Where and how do I update the MENU for mobile?

Post by gwatuk » Tue Sep 27, 2022 12:48 pm

Thanks fo your reply @davidefa

I've added a new tab to the menu which is a link to another site.
So instead of 5 tabs (WEATHER STATION....INFO) I now have 6.
There are now 6 tabs visible on the desktop version, but only the default 5 on the mobile version.

davidefa
Expert
Expert
Posts: 674
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:03 am
Location: Italy
Station model: WH2650
Software: WH2650 (direct upload)
Contact:

Re: Where and how do I update the MENU for mobile?

Post by davidefa » Wed Sep 28, 2022 5:00 pm

Ok, I will take a look
Image

Sarah R Taylor
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2022 5:39 pm
Station model: Davis Vantage Vue
Software: I hope to use a Meteo-Pi

Re: Where and how do I update the MENU for mobile?

Post by Sarah R Taylor » Fri Nov 18, 2022 1:05 am

I am having the same problem (I think). I now have a windDirection plugin available on my Desktop menu (the line of text across the top like: Weather Station Weather Climate Astronomy Info) which are pull-down lists where you can select a choice. I was successful in adding the windDirection plugin there. But when I try to add this to the Mobile menu using the Menu Setup choice in the Admin menu, I only get the menu applicable to the Desktop.

I tried invoking the Menu Setup from within the Mobile view but I only get to adjust the Desktop version.

My station is at: www.owlsheadns.com/template/

Sarah R Taylor
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2022 5:39 pm
Station model: Davis Vantage Vue
Software: I hope to use a Meteo-Pi

Re: Where and how do I update the MENU for mobile? Solved??

Post by Sarah R Taylor » Fri Nov 18, 2022 1:32 am

I may have figured out a work-around, at least for a plugin.
I edited the php file /template/mobile/menu.php.
I copied line 477
<li><a href='<?php echo $pageURL.$path?>mobile/pages/forecast/index.php'><?php echo lang("outlook",'c')?></a></li>

and pasted it as line 478.
Then on the new line 478 I edited the =>mobile/pages/forecast/index.php<= to say =>plugins/windDirection/index.php<= (don't use => and <=)

This seems to work on my personal computer viewing a mobile version, and also on my Samsung Galaxy Tab A7.

Post Reply