Weathetlink live

Post Reply
Gerrit
Observer
Observer
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:31 pm
Station model: Vantage pro 2 plus
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Weathetlink live

Post by Gerrit » Sun Apr 24, 2022 4:50 am

Hello,

I am working with the plugin WLIP to upload data sent via weatherlink live to the weatherlink site to meteotemplate.
Now it is not quite clear to me if this was possible at the moment as there were problems with the api V2 in the past, are these already solved? I can't find anything about this in other posts in the forum

Gerrit

mchd17
Forecaster
Forecaster
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 2:01 am
Location: Illinois
Station model: Davis Pro2 Plus
Software: Meteobridge

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by mchd17 » Tue Apr 26, 2022 1:49 pm

I am curious about this too. Does this api update work correctly? All extra sensors work? I can share my weatherlink api.
Image

davidefa
Expert
Expert
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:03 am
Location: Italy
Station model: WH2650
Software: WH2650 (direct upload)
Contact:

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by davidefa » Tue Apr 26, 2022 8:52 pm

I think the plugin can be converted to api v2.
Need the 'API Key' and 'API Secret' to test it
Image

mchd17
Forecaster
Forecaster
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 2:01 am
Location: Illinois
Station model: Davis Pro2 Plus
Software: Meteobridge

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by mchd17 » Tue Apr 26, 2022 9:06 pm

Pm sent
Image

Gerrit
Observer
Observer
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:31 pm
Station model: Vantage pro 2 plus
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by Gerrit » Wed Apr 27, 2022 10:16 am

If my api is needed I like to hear it

Gerrit

mchd17
Forecaster
Forecaster
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 2:01 am
Location: Illinois
Station model: Davis Pro2 Plus
Software: Meteobridge

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by mchd17 » Thu May 05, 2022 1:14 am

i'm curious, any success on this :?:
Image

davidefa
Expert
Expert
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:03 am
Location: Italy
Station model: WH2650
Software: WH2650 (direct upload)
Contact:

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by davidefa » Thu May 05, 2022 8:46 pm

Yes, I can get the values of your sensors ( very long list of sensors and various control values ) divided in 10 groups.
I think the setup of of the plugin could be similar to the extra sensor setup.
Each line define a sensor and contains the davis naming, the meteotemplate naming, the unit of measure/conversion, and a flag to enable/disable sensor
ex:

Code: Select all

Sensor 2 ( 480481 ) leaf/soil
moist_soil2            SM1          --     enabled
...
Sensor 4 ( 480479 ) vantage pro2 24h fan asp.
hum                     H           --     enabled
wind_speed last         W          mi/h    enabled
...
In this way there's maximum freedom in selecting/defining sensors ( at the cost of a little bit longer setup phase )

davis01.png
davis01.png (29.03 KiB) Viewed 1590 times
Image

mchd17
Forecaster
Forecaster
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 2:01 am
Location: Illinois
Station model: Davis Pro2 Plus
Software: Meteobridge

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by mchd17 » Thu May 05, 2022 8:55 pm

:lol: yeah, it's a long list of sensors

i see alot of nulls in your image when there should be totals
Image

davidefa
Expert
Expert
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:03 am
Location: Italy
Station model: WH2650
Software: WH2650 (direct upload)
Contact:

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by davidefa » Thu May 05, 2022 9:01 pm

Sensor n. 3 contains only a wind sensor, sensor 4 contains the most part of sensors.
Last edited by davidefa on Thu May 05, 2022 9:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

mchd17
Forecaster
Forecaster
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 2:01 am
Location: Illinois
Station model: Davis Pro2 Plus
Software: Meteobridge

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by mchd17 » Thu May 05, 2022 9:08 pm

i understand how the listing works now
Image

Gerrit
Observer
Observer
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:31 pm
Station model: Vantage pro 2 plus
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by Gerrit » Sun Jun 05, 2022 8:12 am

I'm curious to see if the connection will work out.

johnathan
Observer
Observer
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2021 1:14 pm
Station model: wh1080
Software: WU

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by johnathan » Tue Jun 07, 2022 11:39 am

Custom software’s most significant benefit is providing features that off-the-shelf software doesn’t. After the custom-designed solution is implemented, the problems it solves can be well worth the costs https://mlsdev.com.
Last edited by johnathan on Mon Jun 20, 2022 11:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

davidefa
Expert
Expert
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:03 am
Location: Italy
Station model: WH2650
Software: WH2650 (direct upload)
Contact:

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by davidefa » Wed Jun 08, 2022 6:15 pm

Found 'a little time' to dedicate to this plugin ( still a preliminary release ).

Installation:
- extract the compressed archive in the plugin folder
- copy the updateWLL.php script in the load/crons folder ( and set a cron job, if not already set, to execute the load/cron.php script as described in the wiki )
- execute the plugin setup via the meteotemplate control panel ( it could be quite long if you have many sensors )

Setup:
1) first time you execute the setup insert your api_key, secret_key, click the 'save' button and reload the page
2) you have now access to all your 'stations' and relative 'sensors'
3) now you have to set the 3 parameters:
- MT Field ( field name as used by meteotemplate T,H,P,W,G,B... see meteotemplate wiki, you can use also other field names, all will be imported in the meteotemplatreLive.txt file )
- Conversion ( unit of measure conversion from the davis format to the format used in the meteotemplate database, the alldata table has user definable unit of measure of each fields via the main setup, the alldataExtra table fields all have fixed unit of measure, for example extra temperature sensors are always saved in °C, even if main outdoor temperature is saved in °F )
- Enabled ( enable all sensor you want to pass to meteotemplate )

NOTE
Davis provides an incredible number of fields ( see for example, wind, rain and particulate sensors ) so you need to carefully choose which to import
The file cache/updateDavisWLLLog.txt contains a log of the import process.

davisWLL02.png
davisWLL02.png (112.23 KiB) Viewed 1194 times
davisWLL01.png
davisWLL01.png (104.1 KiB) Viewed 1194 times
Attachments
davisWLL_0.1a.zip
(9.15 KiB) Downloaded 27 times
Image

alexvanuxem
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2022 4:41 pm
Location: Sint-Katelijne-Waver, Belgium
Station model: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by alexvanuxem » Wed Jun 08, 2022 6:49 pm

thank you, will test it asap.

my apologies to my previous pm i sent you. my airlink 1 is saved.

now to set up the ecowitt lightning....(see pm)

one step at a time.

thank you for you outmost dedication

i
Image

davidefa
Expert
Expert
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:03 am
Location: Italy
Station model: WH2650
Software: WH2650 (direct upload)
Contact:

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by davidefa » Wed Jun 08, 2022 8:49 pm

Did not receive any pm ( I think )
Image

alexvanuxem
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2022 4:41 pm
Location: Sint-Katelijne-Waver, Belgium
Station model: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by alexvanuxem » Sat Jun 11, 2022 10:46 am

thank you!

works like a charm!

not only do I have lightning, I have my second airlink reporting to meteotemplate!!!

this a good day.

Alex
Image

Gerrit
Observer
Observer
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:31 pm
Station model: Vantage pro 2 plus
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by Gerrit » Sat Jun 11, 2022 1:40 pm

Good day,

I'm not quite getting there unfortunately, I just set the basic sensors first to test, I'll do the additional sensors later.
I get an error message with the cron job.
I have set this rule.
https://www.waskolkweer.nl/meteotemplat ... ord=xxxxxx

and should in the database upload just leave it on API?

Gerrit

alexvanuxem
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2022 4:41 pm
Location: Sint-Katelijne-Waver, Belgium
Station model: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by alexvanuxem » Sat Jun 11, 2022 4:04 pm

Hi,

Your cron job should be like

https://www.waskolkweer.nl/meteotemplat ... word=xxxxx

mine is :

https://www.sint-katelijne-waver-meteo. ... sword=xxxx

and with the updateWLL.php in the load/crons folder.

succes!
Image

Gerrit
Observer
Observer
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:31 pm
Station model: Vantage pro 2 plus
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by Gerrit » Sat Jun 11, 2022 4:24 pm

Thanks, I will try it tomorrow, today unfortunately no time,

User avatar
MeteoElMasnou
Observer
Observer
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2022 1:56 pm
Location: El Masnou / Catalunya
Station model: Davis Vantage Vue
Software: Weewx
Contact:

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by MeteoElMasnou » Wed Jun 22, 2022 12:25 pm

Tell you that I have also managed to pair my Airlink in my MT.

Thank you for your selfless work, you make everything easier.

Health.

Gerrit
Observer
Observer
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:31 pm
Station model: Vantage pro 2 plus
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Re: Weathetlink live

Post by Gerrit » Sun Jun 26, 2022 5:37 am

Dear Davide,

I have been running the plugin for 2 weeks now, without any problems, I am very happy with it.
Everything can now be done via WLL

Gerrit

Post Reply