German - Capitalization in blocks

Discussion about language files
Post Reply
ChrisBoom
Observer
Observer
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 11:38 am
Station model: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Software: Meteobridge

German - Capitalization in blocks

Post by ChrisBoom » Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:05 pm

Hi all,

I noticed that in quite a few blocks the translations have no capital initials, although they show up correctly translated in the "Translation" section.

The calendar block is an example here. Apart from the grammar stuff (NiedrigsteR wind), the nouns all have small initials, such as gesamtzeit, wind, luftdruck. They are all translated with capital initials in the Language file.

Can I fix this in the block files?

Best regards
Chris

Image

User avatar
iatros
Language Admin
Language Admin
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 5:56 am
Location: Waldenburg, Switzerland
Station model: Davis Pro 2 6163
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Re: German - Capitalization in blocks

Post by iatros » Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:38 pm

Hi Chris

no. you can't (at least not in a simple way).

The problem you mention is inherent in the system of language translation in use in MT and has also been discussed here.
Look for "translation" in the forum's search bar!

Best regards

martin
Image

Language Admin für Deutsch

ChrisBoom
Observer
Observer
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 11:38 am
Station model: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Software: Meteobridge

Re: German - Capitalization in blocks

Post by ChrisBoom » Mon Dec 04, 2017 3:02 pm

Hi, thanks for the reply. I'd been through the whole translation threads, but still couldn't figure out why the blocks inconsistently return small initials on words correctly translated (as displayed in the translations section). I think I'll take the block off for now then.

Cheers
Chris

User avatar
Jachym
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1657
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 10:12 pm
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
Station model: WH1080
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Re: German - Capitalization in blocks

Post by Jachym » Mon Dec 04, 2017 3:21 pm

Hi,
what is in the translations is irrelevant in terms of capitalization. The capitalization is handled by the scripts themselves. This is so that you dont have to translate for example temperature and Temperature separately. So each script has information about which word and what case should be used everytime a translation is requested.
Image

ChrisBoom
Observer
Observer
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 11:38 am
Station model: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Software: Meteobridge

Re: German - Capitalization in blocks

Post by ChrisBoom » Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:17 pm

Thanks for the explanation. I thought the caps were tied to the translations, and I certainly understand that this is tricky to handle for all those languages (and different capitalization rules) the template offers.

User avatar
Jachym
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1657
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 10:12 pm
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
Station model: WH1080
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Re: German - Capitalization in blocks

Post by Jachym » Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:50 pm

Hi,
it is not "difficult". It is impossible. It is not just capitalization, also word order etc. The only way you can make perfect translation is when you write the scripts for that language. Companies like Microsoft can afford to have people creating it in 25 language mutations, but obviously I cant do that :D
Image

Post Reply