Jachym
Site Admin
Site Admin
Station model: WH1080
Software: Meteobridge

Global Warming

Post by Jachym » Tue Sep 05, 2017 11:08 pm

Hi guys,
global warming..... man-made? natural? myth?

Interested to know what you think

Johnny
Developer
Developer
Station model: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus

Re: Global Warming

Post by Johnny » Wed Sep 06, 2017 9:14 am

Well I have no scientific knowledge on this subject, but I would be an Ostrich burying my head in the sand if I ignored the countless web articles, TV programmes, news items and even films over the concern that we are heating our planet up.

I remember David Attenborough summarising at the end of one of his natural History programmes "the population is growing at an unsustainable rate", each and everyone of us is adding to these worrying emissions. So I do agree with all the warnings from scientists, they've had the courage to push this message out and I for one am listening.
Last edited by Johnny on Thu Sep 07, 2017 7:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus: http://www.watfordweather.uk

Luc
Developer
Developer
Station model: Davis Pro 2 (2x)
Software: WeeWX

Post by Luc » Wed Sep 06, 2017 5:06 pm

It is certainly no myth in my opinion, the facts show that our earth is warming up. And it is man-made, no doubt about it.
My main concern goes to the countries which have a surface below or just above sea-level.
I just moved from Hoofddorp in the Netherlands which is situated 4 meters below sea-level to Paramaribo, Suriname which is 3 meters above sea-level. When the sea-level would rise as a result of melting ice we are in those areas in big danger when no precautions are taken.

kocher
Language Admin
Language Admin
Station model: Davis Pro 2
Software: Weather Display

Post by kocher » Wed Sep 06, 2017 9:15 pm

I do not have it very clearly.

In order to start discussing, you have to answer some interesting questions first. Global warming?:

- In how much time?
- Does it respond to a natural cycle?