netAtmoNet plugin

El_Viejo
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:56 pm
Location: Derio - Bizkaia - Spain
Station model: Ecowitt - Netatmo

Re: netAtmoNet plugin

Post by El_Viejo » Tue Jun 04, 2024 7:51 am

My fears have been confirmed. Since yesterday, the Netatmo plugin made by “davidefa” has stopped working.
The error message is: “Access token expired”.
Davide's selfless and efficient work was wasted by Netatmo's requirements.
We, the users of these stations, need Davide's active participation in the forum again.
Attachments
Meteo_Netatmmo_06-24.png
Meteo_Netatmmo_06-24.png (8.05 KiB) Viewed 303 times

Julius
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 10:41 pm
Station model: Barani MeteoHelix
Software: meteobridge

Re: netAtmoNet plugin

Post by Julius » Mon Jun 10, 2024 7:54 am

netatmo have been the worst for external data support that I have ever encountered with any sensor brand/type.
Even their API changes the last 2 years have been entirely useless for what was intended by them. It's like their developers are not giving a sh*t about people's data, pushing through drastic changes without any user-demand.
I have switched to ecowitt, just as cheap, offers way better support and has proper data-processing we can all use.

We own and use 2 netatmo suites where I live and they have become vendor-only devices, pretty sad that such companies still exist. They're going against what all other weather stations are moving towards; Open up access to their data-storage and processing.
Image

El_Viejo
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:56 pm
Location: Derio - Bizkaia - Spain
Station model: Ecowitt - Netatmo

Re: netAtmoNet plugin

Post by El_Viejo » Mon Jun 10, 2024 8:32 am

I totally share your opinion about Netatmo.
I am also thinking about buying an “Ecowitt” station. While I make a decision, I will keep trying to find a solution to the plugin.
Best regards.

El_Viejo
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:56 pm
Location: Derio - Bizkaia - Spain
Station model: Ecowitt - Netatmo

Re: netAtmoNet plugin

Post by El_Viejo » Fri Jun 21, 2024 6:34 pm

I am still looking for a solution to the Netatmo server access problem. In the Netatmo forum, one of the users, has managed to successfully connect and insert the measurement data into his WordPress website.
https://www.blombergsbatsallskap.se/
He makes the PHP script available to the users.
My PHP programming knowledge is null. But one of the " savants " of this forum or Jachym himself could try to apply it to the Meteotemplate plugin.
Thanks in advance.
Attachments
Netatmo_WP.png
Netatmo_WP.png (104.99 KiB) Viewed 166 times

User avatar
tobydude
Forecaster
Forecaster
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 6:43 pm
Location: Norway
Station model: Netatmo
Software: Weatherdiaplay
Contact:

Re: netAtmoNet plugin

Post by tobydude » Sat Jun 22, 2024 5:59 am

Hi.
I use Weatherdisplay with netatmo.
Weatherdisplay has a buildt in token maker that starts when weatherdisplay starts.
It looks like netatmo still works with weatherdisplay.
Don´t ask me why.

Image

El_Viejo
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:56 pm
Location: Derio - Bizkaia - Spain
Station model: Ecowitt - Netatmo

Re: netAtmoNet plugin

Post by El_Viejo » Sat Jun 22, 2024 4:03 pm

Hello.

In addition to not getting the plugin to work, I also have doubts about which is the better decision. Spend money buying an Ecowitt station or, spend much less money installing Weather Display.

I don't like the conditions imposed by Netatmo to non-developer users.

Best regards.

User avatar
tobydude
Forecaster
Forecaster
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 6:43 pm
Location: Norway
Station model: Netatmo
Software: Weatherdiaplay
Contact:

Re: netAtmoNet plugin

Post by tobydude » Sat Jun 22, 2024 5:04 pm

Dont know how long wetherdisplay will work.
But weatherdisplay also makes "clientraw" files.
Why can´t clientraw files be used in stead of the netatmo api?

Julius
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 10:41 pm
Station model: Barani MeteoHelix
Software: meteobridge

Re: netAtmoNet plugin

Post by Julius » Thu Jun 27, 2024 9:15 am

tobydude wrote: Sat Jun 22, 2024 5:59 am It looks like netatmo still works with weatherdisplay.
Don´t ask me why.
That is because WD uses the netatmo site login itself, not the api, as far as I can see. This means you'll have a 5 to 10 minute delay of your weather-data showing though.
Image

User avatar
tobydude
Forecaster
Forecaster
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 6:43 pm
Location: Norway
Station model: Netatmo
Software: Weatherdiaplay
Contact:

Re: netAtmoNet plugin

Post by tobydude » Thu Jun 27, 2024 10:18 am

That is because WD uses the netatmo site login itself, not the api, as far as I can see. This means you'll have a 5 to 10 minute delay of your weather-data showing though.
I can live with that.

Thanks.

El_Viejo
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:56 pm
Location: Derio - Bizkaia - Spain
Station model: Ecowitt - Netatmo

Re: netAtmoNet plugin

Post by El_Viejo » Wed Jul 03, 2024 4:49 pm

After some time of reflection, I have made up my mind.
I have rejected Weather Display because it has some problems on Raspberry Pi. I have given up on continuing to look for a solution for the Netatmo plugin.
I just received an Ecowitt Wittboy. Before I start testing, I am reading everything I can find about setting it up and using it with Metetemplate. But, it is a pity that "davidefa" has disappeared from the forum.
I hope to have the help of other experts who are still participating.
Thanks in advance.

User avatar
tobydude
Forecaster
Forecaster
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 6:43 pm
Location: Norway
Station model: Netatmo
Software: Weatherdiaplay
Contact:

Re: netAtmoNet plugin

Post by tobydude » Wed Jul 03, 2024 5:17 pm

El_Viejo wrote: Wed Jul 03, 2024 4:49 pm Before I start testing, I am reading everything I can find about setting it up and using it with Metetemplate.
Good luck

Post Reply