Purple Air

Post Reply
User avatar
Jachym
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1640
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 10:12 pm
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
Station model: WH1080
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Purple Air

Post by Jachym » Fri Feb 02, 2018 6:30 am

Hi guys,

are there any PurpleAir sensor owners?
Image

User avatar
Fraggboy
Forecaster
Forecaster
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Sunny California
Station model: Bloomsky II + Storm
Software: Bloomsky
Contact:

Re: Purple Air

Post by Fraggboy » Fri Feb 02, 2018 2:59 pm

I looked at those. They are pricey which turned me off. I still might 'bite' and purchase an indoor version.

Are you planning on incorporating it in the template?
Image

weatherbee
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 4:35 pm
Location: Sherman Connecticut
Station model: Davis Pro 2
Software: Weather Display
Contact:

Re: Purple Air

Post by weatherbee » Fri Feb 02, 2018 6:14 pm

I have a sensor. Seems pretty accurate when comparing it to a nearby Airnow.gov site.
I created my own block for it.
Tom
Image

User avatar
Jachym
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1640
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 10:12 pm
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
Station model: WH1080
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Re: Purple Air

Post by Jachym » Fri Feb 02, 2018 11:10 pm

Hi,
I will see. I was looking at it, it looks interesting, but I agree, it is quite pricey and I have some doubts about its accuracy. I will have to think about it a bit more :D
Image

duckrising
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:10 pm
Station model: AH1001
Software: meteobridge

Re: Purple Air

Post by duckrising » Mon Feb 05, 2018 5:17 pm

I have a sensor, I cannot say anything about the accuracy. But would be very interested in having it supported.

Crondall Weather
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:52 pm
Station model: Davis Vantage Pro2
Software: Weather Display

Re: Purple Air

Post by Crondall Weather » Thu Feb 08, 2018 6:45 pm

I've been running a Purple air sensor for couple months now and it seems very accurate - even picks up the build in 2.5gm particles on the school run.

I'm using Brian's WD to update my "old" site

http://www.crondallweather.co.uk/air-qu ... nitor.html

but the automatic feed to google maps and additional data they supply via Thingspeak.com is pretty cool

https://www.purpleair.com/map?&zoom=15& ... 0008544922

Be brilliant if you could pull this data in Jachym :D

weather display
Observer
Observer
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2017 7:08 pm
Station model: Davis VP2
Software: weather display

Re: Purple Air

Post by weather display » Sat Feb 10, 2018 7:11 pm

good to see purple air in use with WD :)
the only air pollution I get here is salt spray, so not sure how much use one would be

would it pick up salt spray?
Image

User avatar
Jeffm5690
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:30 pm
Location: New York USA
Station model: Davis Pro 2
Software: Weather Display
Contact:

Re: Purple Air

Post by Jeffm5690 » Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:27 pm

I was actually just looking at it and thinking of getting one. I am not sure if it is worth the extra $$ for the one with the SD card. The thing I am wondering about is if they are just charging for the SD card or is it that and the offline logging programming since I have a ton of SD cards laying around.

User avatar
Jeffm5690
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:30 pm
Location: New York USA
Station model: Davis Pro 2
Software: Weather Display
Contact:

Re: Purple Air

Post by Jeffm5690 » Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:47 am

Anyone else have any thoughts on this or should I just wait and see what else comes out in the future?

User avatar
Johnny
Developer
Developer
Posts: 305
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 10:16 pm
Location: Watford, Hertfordshire, England
Station model: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Re: Purple Air

Post by Johnny » Sat Feb 17, 2018 9:32 am

Hi Jeff, I too was thinking about buying one of these, the reason I was put off is that they require mains power to function. I'm not sure where they're supposed to be sited, but I guess in as much open space as you can manage and gettting mains power to that point, which let's face it is a bit of a pain (waterproof sockets).

It would be nice if they made a version which could run off an internal battery and a solar panel, I'm not sure on the present frequency of readings, but on batteries two or four an hour would be enough.

So for me, I'm going to wait a little longer.
Image
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus: http://www.watfordweather.uk Bloomsky 2 & Storm: http://www.watfordweather.co.uk

User avatar
Fraggboy
Forecaster
Forecaster
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Sunny California
Station model: Bloomsky II + Storm
Software: Bloomsky
Contact:

Re: Purple Air

Post by Fraggboy » Tue Feb 20, 2018 2:52 pm

I am with you Johnny. I am going to hold off to see if they can make it more 'portable'. I'm also hoping they will be able to drop the price down a bit.
Image

azchrisf
Observer
Observer
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 2:55 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Station model: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus
Software: Meteobridge
Contact:

Re: Purple Air

Post by azchrisf » Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:02 pm

Just so everyone knows, I created a PHP script that will pull the information and display it for you on your webpage.

https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=33482.0
Image

User avatar
Fraggboy
Forecaster
Forecaster
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Sunny California
Station model: Bloomsky II + Storm
Software: Bloomsky
Contact:

Re: Purple Air

Post by Fraggboy » Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:09 pm

This is really cool. Thank you for sharing with us.

Would you mind sharing your files here so we don't have to register on that forum as well to see them?
Image

User avatar
Jeffm5690
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:30 pm
Location: New York USA
Station model: Davis Pro 2
Software: Weather Display
Contact:

Re: Purple Air

Post by Jeffm5690 » Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:42 pm

I have been hemming and hawing... I just can’t commit to pulling the trigger on the purchase,

User avatar
Fraggboy
Forecaster
Forecaster
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Sunny California
Station model: Bloomsky II + Storm
Software: Bloomsky
Contact:

Re: Purple Air

Post by Fraggboy » Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:29 pm

You and me both! I'm holding out for a v2 of the hardware. It's generally cheaper and they have worked out the bugs that couldn't be fixed via software.
Image

phqfh
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2018 5:36 pm
Station model: Davis vantage vue
Software: VWS Hopefully

Re: Purple Air

Post by phqfh » Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:39 pm

Received my PA-II-SD on 3nd February 2018, had to pay an extra £46.00 at post office for import duty and handling charge but I expected it so still worth the money IMHO.
Set up was easy enough and was showing on Thinkspeak map within the hour, been sending data continually since installation, it seems to be quite accurate and sometimes scary to see how bad the pollution gets occasionally which concurs with nearby official readings.
I made a gauze cup to cover the base to discourage any insects squatting in the new cozy home ;)
Not able to get the data on WU as yet and would be nice to see it on meteotemplate, Had a look at the Blank block but it's beyond me how I would insert it?

My temporary page is here
http://www.phqfh.co.uk/purpleair5.php
Image

User avatar
Jeffm5690
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:30 pm
Location: New York USA
Station model: Davis Pro 2
Software: Weather Display
Contact:

Re: Purple Air

Post by Jeffm5690 » Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:10 am

Do you think the SD version was worth it? I’m not sure if it’s necessary since it’s uploading data. Thoughts?

phqfh
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2018 5:36 pm
Station model: Davis vantage vue
Software: VWS Hopefully

Re: Purple Air

Post by phqfh » Thu Feb 22, 2018 6:25 am

I purposely delayed ordering waiting for the SD version to become available. my thinking at the time was it was probably worth the extra $30 on the understanding that it would store a few years of data but from what I understand presently the data from the SD card can only be accessed by removing it, not sure how you would import or view it though? I read somewhere that future updates may include access from your browser.
It would be nice to access and maybe import the data into daily/weekly/yearly graphs etc.
Image

User avatar
Torjan
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:27 pm
Location: South West Norway
Station model: Davis pro 2, WMR 300
Software: Weather Display, Meteobri
Contact:

Re: Purple Air

Post by Torjan » Sat Mar 10, 2018 1:06 pm

Hi!
Received my Purple air a few days ago.
Does anyone have a block for the sensor, and will share it with me.
I'm not so good at it myself.

Torjan

User avatar
Jeffm5690
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:30 pm
Location: New York USA
Station model: Davis Pro 2
Software: Weather Display
Contact:

Re: Purple Air

Post by Jeffm5690 » Sun Mar 11, 2018 5:08 pm

Would love to see block and even a plug-in that can be accessed as a main tab. Just got mine installed.

User avatar
Jeffm5690
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:30 pm
Location: New York USA
Station model: Davis Pro 2
Software: Weather Display
Contact:

Re: Purple Air

Post by Jeffm5690 » Mon Mar 12, 2018 12:57 am

A wonderful user shared a block he developed but I cannot figure it out. I’ll keep trying and if I can I will send it to you, just need some time.

User avatar
Torjan
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:27 pm
Location: South West Norway
Station model: Davis pro 2, WMR 300
Software: Weather Display, Meteobri
Contact:

Re: Purple Air

Post by Torjan » Mon Mar 12, 2018 6:33 pm

Hi!
used the link azchrisf referred to.
And it was just copy and past and the result was good

http://regnskvett.com/meteotemplate/custom/air.php.

Tanks azchrisf.

Regard Torjan

User avatar
Jeffm5690
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:30 pm
Location: New York USA
Station model: Davis Pro 2
Software: Weather Display
Contact:

Re: Purple Air

Post by Jeffm5690 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 2:56 am

Torjan wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 6:33 pm
Hi!
used the link azchrisf referred to.
And it was just copy and past and the result was good

http://regnskvett.com/meteotemplate/custom/air.php.

Tanks azchrisf.

Regard Torjan
How can I get the code so I can tweak and use to create a plugin or page. I’m a novice so I need help.

Ty

User avatar
Torjan
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:27 pm
Location: South West Norway
Station model: Davis pro 2, WMR 300
Software: Weather Display, Meteobri
Contact:

Re: Purple Air

Post by Torjan » Tue Mar 13, 2018 9:30 am

Hi!
I had to read the thread here https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=33482.0
To find out where I found id and other ting that the script need.

Regard Torjan

Post Reply