WebCam

Post Reply
User avatar
Jeffm5690
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:30 pm
Location: New York USA
Station model: Davis Pro 2
Software: Weather Display
Contact:

WebCam

Post by Jeffm5690 » Wed Dec 16, 2020 2:32 pm

Hi! I used to have a bloomsky that I was using with the API to put a cam image of the sky. Unfortunately it is no longer working. I am looking for a webcam that would also have an API as I cannot connect it directly to my computer OR something that would allow me to push images across my network to the local computer and then post the image.

Alternatively - I am in NY and perhaps someone has found a way to pull a sky image from a locally available webcam for use?

Thanks and Happy Holidays!

Jeff

User avatar
Jeffm5690
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:30 pm
Location: New York USA
Station model: Davis Pro 2
Software: Weather Display
Contact:

Re: WebCam

Post by Jeffm5690 » Thu Feb 25, 2021 11:47 pm

I need help…. I have my webcam at a url. How do I get that to show on my homepage?

https://www.cameraftp.com/camera/Camera ... 492&p=true

davidefa
Expert
Expert
Posts: 862
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:03 am
Location: Italy
Station model: WH2650
Software: WH2650 (direct upload)
Contact:

Re: WebCam

Post by davidefa » Fri Feb 26, 2021 4:09 pm

a) You can use the webcam block.
In the block configuration set the URL to:

Code: Select all

https://cameraftpapi.drivehq.com/api/Camera/GetCameraThumbnail.ashx?parentID=333748648&shareID=16902492
( see https://www.cameraftp.com/camera/knowledgebase/howtoPublishCamera.aspx#Get_Last_Image_URL )

b) You can use the text block and put in an iframe:

Code: Select all

<iframe src="https://www.cameraftp.com/file/PublishCameraplayer.aspx?parentID=333748648&shareID=16902492&isEmbedded=true&mode=live"  width="640" height="480" style="border:0px; overflow:hidden; scrolling="no">  </iframe>
You should modify the width and height to suit your page

( see https://www.cameraftp.com/camera/knowledgebase/howtoPublishCamera.aspx#Link_or_Embed_IP_Camera_webcam_in_Web_Page )

In the first case you use the meteotemplate viewer ( you may also install the webcam plugin or the timelapse block )
In the latter case you use the cameraftp viewer

P.S.
By the way I like your floor ; - )
Image

User avatar
Jeffm5690
Advisor
Advisor
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:30 pm
Location: New York USA
Station model: Davis Pro 2
Software: Weather Display
Contact:

Re: WebCam

Post by Jeffm5690 » Sun Feb 28, 2021 12:49 am

HAHA. Thanks! So I changed my plan. I am now messing with iptimelapse. I have it uploading a file. Am I better off just not using the webcam block then?

davidefa
Expert
Expert
Posts: 862
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:03 am
Location: Italy
Station model: WH2650
Software: WH2650 (direct upload)
Contact:

Re: WebCam

Post by davidefa » Sun Feb 28, 2021 3:36 pm

I'm not an iptimelapse espert ( so others who use it, should chime in ).
But once you configure iptimelapse to upload ( to your website ) the webcam still images and timelapses... you can:
a) use the webcam block to show the stills
b) use the videos block to show the timelapses
c) you could also use the text block to 'inject' some simple javascript/html ( maybe iptimelapse provides such a script, but I didn't find any ). I'll leave this option to a more advanced usage.

NOTE
On the 'meteotemplate side' you have to use blocks: every 'widget' in the homepage is a block

P.S.
The online documentation of iptimelapse is almost non-existent ( according to my findings ) and the server-side support is lacking ( at best )

P.P.S.
I see you added a text block with the still image, but in that way the image won't refresh automatically ( you need to reload the page to update the image ), I mean, even if iptimelapse updates the image, it won't be reflected in the browser... until you refresh the page
The webcam block does this automatically ( it just add a programmable timer that periodically reloads only the image )
Image

Post Reply