Meteotemplate - API issue

Post Reply
MatteoCarnelos
Observer
Observer
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 7:19 pm
Station model: Davis Vantage Vue
Software: Meteobridge

Meteotemplate - API issue

Post by MatteoCarnelos » Mon Feb 19, 2024 11:01 am

Hi everybody,
I open this topic because I have a problem with the connection between the meterobridge and meteotemplate: in the website I see the image enclosed.

It worked until three days ago, then, I don't understand why, it stopped to works.
But as you can see, the others connections (WU and Wetather34) work correctly.

Can you help me to solve or give me information how can I understand the problem?

Thank you.
Matteo.
Attachments
Screenshot 2024-02-19 115808.jpg
Screenshot 2024-02-19 115808.jpg (311.47 KiB) Viewed 811 times

minoic
Language Admin
Language Admin
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 5:36 pm
Location: Roustika, Crete
Station model: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Software: WeatherCat

Re: Meteotemplate - API issue

Post by minoic » Wed Feb 21, 2024 12:40 pm

Hello Matteo,
I discovered that I have the problem and cannot find any solution.

The steps that I went through:

in Meteobridge:

Do you see any error message at the top of the screen that you included?. Usually there is a message there.
I received initially an error 500. Later the message that the admin password was used. Now I receive only Error: Meteotemplate: with nothing else

in Meteotemplate

Go to ADMIN-Main Setup Screen. Check Server + check SQL. Eventually change update password and use it in the Meteobridge.

My site is hosted externally, I checked the host but there are no errors and the database is ok.

No idea.

Let me know if you find something.

thanks

Georgios

MatteoCarnelos
Observer
Observer
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 7:19 pm
Station model: Davis Vantage Vue
Software: Meteobridge

Re: Meteotemplate - API issue

Post by MatteoCarnelos » Wed Feb 21, 2024 2:57 pm

Hello Minoic,

in Meteobridge:
I don't understand why there isn't the reason of error in red: see highlighted in yellow in the picture "Empty" enclosed.
So I tried to put a wrong URL or a wrong password and the error reason appears in both the cases: see highlighted in yellow in the pictures "WrongURL" and "WrongPW" enclosed.

in Meteotemplate:
I tried to change password --> no succes
I tried to change API (creating a new one) --> no success
Server check --> OK
PHP version: You are using PHP version 8.0.30, which is OK.
CURL extension: CURL extension is enabled on your server.
url_fopen: The url_fopen is enabled on your server.

Test connection (MySQL Database) --> OK
Success: A proper connection to MySQL was made!
Table already exists.


I don't know what to do more... I'm so sad :'(
Attachments
WrongURL.png
WrongURL.png (62.72 KiB) Viewed 765 times
WrongPW.png
WrongPW.png (57.24 KiB) Viewed 765 times
Empty.png
Empty.png (56.06 KiB) Viewed 765 times

minoic
Language Admin
Language Admin
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 5:36 pm
Location: Roustika, Crete
Station model: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Software: WeatherCat

Re: Meteotemplate - API issue

Post by minoic » Thu Feb 22, 2024 8:59 pm

Hello Matteo,
I resolved the issue by going back to PHP 7xx.
Something must have happened with my installation since the last update of meteotemplate was to upgrade to PHP 8. I will go back to that tomorrow and, if needed, over the weekend. Maybe I'll do a fresh install of the last update.

Anyway, at the moment data is going correctly from meteobridge to meteotemplate.

Will keep you posted.

MatteoCarnelos
Observer
Observer
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 7:19 pm
Station model: Davis Vantage Vue
Software: Meteobridge

Re: Meteotemplate - API issue

Post by MatteoCarnelos » Thu Feb 22, 2024 9:44 pm

Oh ok.
Can you explain better what you did and how to do it?
I'm not much skilled :roll:

minoic
Language Admin
Language Admin
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 5:36 pm
Location: Roustika, Crete
Station model: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Software: WeatherCat

Re: Meteotemplate - API issue

Post by minoic » Fri Feb 23, 2024 5:50 am

Matteo,
before you do anything else, please tell me following:

Are you running your own webserver or are you using a hosting service?
Which version of meteotemplate are you running? Are you on version 19 Cranberry?
When did the problems started?

Can you please tell me the complete URL that you enter in Meteobridge to access the meteotemplate API.PHP file?
I do NOT send any passwords.
From the pictures you have included is not clear whether you are accessing the right template directories. I can only see https://simonicco.altervista.org/Meteotem....... I need the rest. Did you try https://www.simonicco.........

Cheers

MatteoCarnelos
Observer
Observer
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 7:19 pm
Station model: Davis Vantage Vue
Software: Meteobridge

Re: Meteotemplate - API issue

Post by MatteoCarnelos » Fri Feb 23, 2024 11:07 am

Are you running your own webserver or are you using a hosting service?
I'm using altervista.org as hosting service

Which version of meteotemplate are you running? Are you on version 19 Cranberry?
Meteotemplate 19.0 Cranberry, updated few months ago

When did the problems started?
The problems started about on 15 february

Can you please tell me the complete URL that you enter in Meteobridge to access the meteotemplate API.PHP file?
API URL: https://simonicco.altervista.org/Meteot ... te/api.php


Really thank you for your help!

minoic
Language Admin
Language Admin
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 5:36 pm
Location: Roustika, Crete
Station model: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Software: WeatherCat

Re: Meteotemplate - API issue

Post by minoic » Fri Feb 23, 2024 2:18 pm

Matteo,
please check the Monitor tab and then Update Status.

Do you see an error message? What does it say? Is there an error 500 message? If yes, then the problem is on the server and you have to speak to the your hosting guys. Ask them what errors they see on their side. Most probably they will say that it is a PHP problem. Ask them to tell you which version they are running and which version doesn't create the error.

This is a long shot but this is exactly what happened to me and now my site is running on PHP 7.2!!!! although I upgraded to Cranberry for going to PHP 8. Still don't know what is wrong but I'm still looking.

minoic
Language Admin
Language Admin
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 5:36 pm
Location: Roustika, Crete
Station model: Davis Vantage Pro 2
Software: WeatherCat

Re: Meteotemplate - API issue

Post by minoic » Sat Feb 24, 2024 8:10 am

Hey Matteo,
it seems that the problem is not with Meteobridge but with the Cranberry 19.0 and PHP after version 8.

Please have a look at topic Meteotemplate - Process of updating in the forum.

My bad that I had not checked deeper in the forum. Obviously there is something strange happening and many people get different problems at different time points. My problems started around mid January and yours later but other had problems since september 2023 as you can see in the topic I mention above.

Anyway, if your hosting allows you to run on an older PHP version i.e. 7.4 then do so until Jachym comes up with a solution. I cannot stay on an old PHP because my hoster activates older version only with additional charges that I don't want to pay.

There are some other things that people have tried like deleting cache/apiCache.txt file, which I have not tried yet. Maybe will do over the weekend.

At the moment i run on PHP 8.0.3 but not all blocks and plugins are updating as they should.

cheers

MatteoCarnelos
Observer
Observer
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 7:19 pm
Station model: Davis Vantage Vue
Software: Meteobridge

Re: Meteotemplate - API issue

Post by MatteoCarnelos » Sat Feb 24, 2024 4:55 pm

Hi Minoc,
I'm not at home so I give just a small update:
- tried to delete the apiCache.txt file but doesn't work
- I see in my profile of Altervista that the current PHP is 7.3 (see image enclosed), now I try with 8.0 version, but it seams not work.
So I'll take contact with the host provider somehow.
Attachments
PHP.PNG
PHP.PNG (7.41 KiB) Viewed 674 times

MatteoCarnelos
Observer
Observer
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 7:19 pm
Station model: Davis Vantage Vue
Software: Meteobridge

Re: Meteotemplate - API issue

Post by MatteoCarnelos » Sun Feb 25, 2024 10:06 am

New update

About the "Monitor tab - Update" status see the pic enclosed.

As in my Altervista profile there is the possibility to try different PHP I tried al of them
- PMH 5.6: Cannot be used because I got this message "Your server is running PHP version 5.6.40 but WordPress 6.4.3 requires at least 7.0.0.
Fatal error: Call to undefined function get_option() in /membri/.dummy/apps/wordpress/wp-content/plugins/altervista/main.php on line 33"
- PMH 7.3: same problem
- PHP 8: same problem
- PHP 8.3: same problem
Attachments
Monitor tab.PNG
Monitor tab.PNG (56.27 KiB) Viewed 642 times

MatteoCarnelos
Observer
Observer
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 7:19 pm
Station model: Davis Vantage Vue
Software: Meteobridge

Re: Meteotemplate - API issue

Post by MatteoCarnelos » Wed Mar 06, 2024 1:52 pm

Hi, any ideas/news to solve?

Post Reply